Coverart for item
The Resource The trick, by Emanuel Bergmann

The trick, by Emanuel Bergmann

Label
The trick
Title
The trick
Statement of responsibility
by Emanuel Bergmann
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A deeply moving, humorous story of a boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing. In 1934, a rabbi's son in Prague joins a traveling circus, becomes a magician, and rises to fame under the stage name the Great Zabbatini just as Europe descends into World War II. When Zabbatini is discovered to be a Jew, his battered trunk full of magic tricks becomes his only hope of surviving the concentration camp where he is sent. Seven decades later in Los Angeles, ten-year-old Max finds a scratched-up LP that captured Zabbatini performing his greatest tricks. But the track in which Zabbatini performs his love spell--the spell Max believes will keep his disintegrating family together--is damaged beyond repair. Desperate for a solution, Max seeks out the now elderly, cynical magician and begs him to perform his magic on his parents. As the two develop an unlikely friendship, Moshe discovers that Max and his family have a surprising connection to the dark, dark days the Great Zabbatini experienced during the war. Recalling the melancholy humor of Isaac Bashevis Singer and the heartbreaking pathos of the film Life is Beautiful --this outstanding first novel is at once an irreverent yet deeply moving story about a young boy who believes in magic and a disillusioned old man who believes in nothing, as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the circle of life
Member of
Summary
"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10571432
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1972-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bergmann, Emanuel
Dewey number
833/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PT2702.E4628
LC item number
T7513 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Magicians
  • Boys
Target audience
adult
Label
The trick, by Emanuel Bergmann
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"Thorndike Press large print basic."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
21285682
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
457 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432846954
Lccn
2017044168
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1004576235
Label
The trick, by Emanuel Bergmann
Publication
Copyright
Note
"Thorndike Press large print basic."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
21285682
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
457 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432846954
Lccn
2017044168
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1004576235

Library Locations

    • Fulton County Public LibraryBorrow it
      320 W. 7th St., Rochester, IN, 46975, US
      41.06741 -86.219231

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...