Coverart for item
The Resource A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants, Ruth Kassinger

A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants, Ruth Kassinger

Label
A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
Title
A garden of marvels
Title remainder
how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
Statement of responsibility
Ruth Kassinger
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
Summary
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10282153
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1954-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kassinger, Ruth
Dewey number
  • 580.92
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
QK31.K37
LC item number
A3 2014
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Kassinger, Ruth
  • Women gardeners
  • Botanists
  • Botany
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Literary
  • NATURE / Plants / General
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
Label
A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants, Ruth Kassinger
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Pt. I. Inside a plant -- Cocktail, anyone? -- The birth and long life of the vegetable lamb -- Through a glass, however darkly -- The persecuted professor -- Inside a plant -- Pt. II. Roots -- Restless roots -- The enormous gourd -- The way of all water -- How to kill a hickory -- Our fine fungal friends -- Arsenic and young fronds -- The once and future wheat -- Off to the races -- Pt. III. Leaves -- New beginnings -- A momentous mint -- Leaves eat air -- The vegetable slug -- Once in a blue-green moon -- The tenacity of trees -- Amazing grass -- Pt. IV. Flowers -- Sex in the garden -- Who needs Romeo? -- Black petunias -- The abominable mystery -- Cheap sex -- Scent and sex -- Pt. V. Onward, upward, and afterward -- Trouble in paradise -- Onward and upward -- Afterward
Control code
20157734
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 395 pages
Isbn
9780062048998
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014002824
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn870211334
  • (OCoLC)870211334
Label
A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants, Ruth Kassinger
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Pt. I. Inside a plant -- Cocktail, anyone? -- The birth and long life of the vegetable lamb -- Through a glass, however darkly -- The persecuted professor -- Inside a plant -- Pt. II. Roots -- Restless roots -- The enormous gourd -- The way of all water -- How to kill a hickory -- Our fine fungal friends -- Arsenic and young fronds -- The once and future wheat -- Off to the races -- Pt. III. Leaves -- New beginnings -- A momentous mint -- Leaves eat air -- The vegetable slug -- Once in a blue-green moon -- The tenacity of trees -- Amazing grass -- Pt. IV. Flowers -- Sex in the garden -- Who needs Romeo? -- Black petunias -- The abominable mystery -- Cheap sex -- Scent and sex -- Pt. V. Onward, upward, and afterward -- Trouble in paradise -- Onward and upward -- Afterward
Control code
20157734
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 395 pages
Isbn
9780062048998
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014002824
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn870211334
  • (OCoLC)870211334

Library Locations

    • Fulton County Public LibraryBorrow it
      320 W. 7th St., Rochester, IN, 46975, US
      41.06741 -86.219231

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...